skip to main content

Cluster of Excellence “Controlling Microbes to Fight Infections” (CMFI)

News

Harald Groß receives PHOENIX Pharmazie Wissenschaftspreis
01.12.2022 Harald Groß receives PHOENIX Pharmazie Wissenschaftspreis CMFI News
Ruth Ley and Detlef Weigel among the world´s most cited researchers
23.11.2022 Ruth Ley and Detlef Weigel among the world´s most cited researchers CMFI News
ERC Starting Grant for Lisa Maier
22.11.2022 ERC Starting Grant for Lisa Maier CMFI News
Placeholder background image

Data is transmitted to external servers.


Events

Keystone Symposium – The Human Microbiome: Ecology and Evolution
04.12.2022 – 07.12.2022 Keystone Symposium – The Human Microbiome: Ecology and Evolution Symposium Ruth Ley More
Library of Congress Cancer Moonshot Panel Discussion
06.12.2022 Library of Congress Cancer Moonshot Panel Discussion 4:30 pm Online Hans-Georg Rammensee More
The gut microbiome in T cell-based cancer immunotherapies: Approaching clinical relevance
08.12.2022 The gut microbiome in T cell-based cancer immunotherapies: Approaching clinical relevance 12:30 pm 2:00 pm Joint Microbiological Colloquium, Online Christoph Stein-Thoeringer More

About the CMFI

The surfaces of the human body host colonies of microorganisms, known as microbiomes. Along with bacteria which have a positive effect on human health, microbiomes contain potentially life-threatening pathogens. In the past, broad-spectrum antibiotics have often been used to tackle them. Nowadays it is known that this not only promotes resistance to antibiotics – in many cases it also damages the microbiome as a whole. 

 

CMFI researchers aim to develop new strategies to control microbial mechanisms and fight infections.

The Cluster of Excellence CMFI brings together researchers from different disciplines such as infection biology, immunology, bioinformatics, pharmaceutical biology, antibiotics research, molecular and medical microbiology, biotechnology, environmental biology, systems biology, chemistry, and medical history and ethics. Their common goal is to elucidate the mechanisms of interaction between beneficial and harmful bacteria and the host in order to develop novel targeted therapeutic and anti-infective treatments.

The CMFI is one of more than 50 Clusters of Excellence funded by German federal and state governments as part of the Excellence Initiative to sustainably strengthen Germany as a center of science, improve its international competitiveness and make cutting-edge research at German universities visible. In addition to the University of Tübingen, the Max Planck Institute for Biology and the University Hospital Tübingen are involved in the CMFI.

More about the Research

Zum Inhalt der Seite springen

Exzellenzcluster „Kontrolle von Mikroorganismen zur Bekämpfung von Infektionen“ (CMFI)

Aktuelles

„Lösungen für Probleme der heutigen Zeit“: CMFI Forschende erhalten Technologietransferpreis
04.07.2024 „Lösungen für Probleme der heutigen Zeit“: CMFI Forschende erhalten Technologietransferpreis CMFI News
Neues Tool kartiert mikrobielle Diversität mit noch nie dagewesenen Details
21.06.2024 Neues Tool kartiert mikrobielle Diversität mit noch nie dagewesenen Details Pressemitteilung
Klinische Studie mit innovativem Phagenlysin HY-133 gestartet
11.06.2024 Klinische Studie mit innovativem Phagenlysin HY-133 gestartet Pressemitteilung

Veranstaltungen

Gordon Research Conference: Natural Products and Bioactive Compounds (EN)
28.07.2024 – 02.08.2024 Gordon Research Conference: Natural Products and Bioactive Compounds (EN) Konferenz Nadine Ziemert Mehr
NGS-CN Summer School 2024 (EN)
09.09.2024 – 17.09.2024 NGS-CN Summer School 2024 (EN) Summer School Mehr
From strings of nucleotides to collective behavior: “Lessons from Vibrio cholerae and its phages”
05.12.2024 From strings of nucleotides to collective behavior: “Lessons from Vibrio cholerae and its phages” 12:30 Uhr 14:00 Uhr Mikrobiologisches Kolloquium Kai Papenfort Mehr
33

Über das CMFI

Mikrobielle Gemeinschaften, sogenannte Mikrobiome, besiedeln die Oberflächen des menschlichen Körpers. Neben Bakterien, die die menschliche Gesundheit positiv beeinflussen, finden sich im Mikrobiom auch potenziell tödliche Krankheitserreger. Gegen diese Erreger wurden in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten oft Breitbandantibiotika eingesetzt. Inzwischen ist klar, dass dadurch nicht nur die Entstehung von Antibiotikaresistenzen gefördert, sondern in vielen Fällen auch das Mikrobiom als Ganzes geschädigt wird.

CMFI Forschende wollen neue Strategien entwickeln, um mikrobielle Mechanismen zu kontrollieren und Infektionen bekämpfen zu können.

Der Exzellenzcluster CMFI bringt Forschende aus verschiedenen Disziplinen wie Infektionsbiologie, Immunologie, Bioinformatik, pharmazeutische Biologie, Antibiotikaforschung, molekulare und medizinische Mikrobiologie, Biotechnologie, Umweltbiologie, Systembiologie, Chemie sowie der Medizingeschichte und -ethik zusammen. Ihr gemeinsames Ziel ist es, die Mechanismen der Interaktion zwischen nützlichen und schädlichen Bakterien sowie dem Wirt aufzuklären, um neuartige gezielte therapeutische und antiinfektiöse Behandlungsmethoden zu entwickeln.

Das CMFI ist eines von über 50 Exzellenzclustern, die im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie von Bund und Ländern gefördert werden, um den Wissenschaftsstandort Deutschland nachhaltig zu stärken, seine internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu verbessern und Spitzenforschung an deutschen Hochschulen sichtbar zu machen. Neben der Universität Tübingen sind das Max-Planck-Institut für Biologie sowie das Universitätsklinikum Tübingen am CMFI beteiligt.

Mehr zur Forschung