skip to main content
Research Area A

A: Bacterial Molecules and Cells

Central question

Which bacterial molecules govern the specific interactions of bacterial cells with other microorganisms and host cells?

Aim

Bacterial fitness and microbial interactions are shaped by multiple factors, including the ability to secrete antimicrobial compounds and to colonize specific niches. Scientists in Research Area A will join forces to identify and isolate from the human microbiome new bacterial strains that produce antimicrobials. The mode of action of these molecules will then be dissected and their ecological role clarified.

In parallel, using a combination of computational, genetic, cellular and biochemical approaches, gene clusters potentially involved in glycopolymer biosynthesis will be identified and their involvement in bacterial adhesion in cooperation with adhesins further characterized in culture systems as well as animal models. The long term goal of Research Area A is to identify microbial effectors that can be targeted or exploited for therapeutic interventions.

Principal Investigators

Portrait Effie Bastounis
PhD  Effie  Bastounis

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

effie.bastounis@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Erwin Bohn
PD Dr.  Erwin  Bohn

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

erwin.bohn@med.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portait Heike Brötz-Oesterhelt
Prof. Dr.  Heike  Brötz-Oesterhelt

Deputy Spokesperson

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Department of Microbial Bioactive Compounds

heike.broetz-oesterhelt@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Stephanie Grond
Prof. Dr.  Stephanie  Grond

University of Tübingen
Institute of Organic Chemistry

stephanie.grond@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Simon Heilbronner
Dr.  Simon  Heilbronner

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Infection Biology

simon.heilbronner@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Chambers Hughes CMFI PI University of Tübingen
PhD  Chambers  Hughes

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Microbial Bioactive Compounds

chambers.hughes@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Bernhard Krismer
Dr.  Bernhard  Krismer

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Infection Biology

b.krismer@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Hannes Link
Prof. Dr.  Hannes  Link

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Bacterial Metabolomics

hannes.link@cmfi.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Andrei Lupas
Prof. Dr.  Andrei  Lupas

Max Planck Institute for Biology
Proteinevolution

andrei.lupas@tuebingen.mpg.de
Website

Portrait Bastian Molitor
Dr.  Bastian  Molitor

University of Tübingen
Center for Applied Geoscience
Environmental Biotechnology

bastian.molitor@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

[Translate to Englisch:]
Prof. Dr.  Thorsten  Nürnberger

University of Tübingen
ZMBP
Plant Biochemistry

nuernberger@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Daniel Petras
Dr.  Daniel  Petras

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Functional Metabolomics

Website

Portrait Christoph Ratzke
Dr.  Christoph  Ratzke

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Systems Biology of Microbial Communities

christoph.ratzke@cmfi.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Khaled Selim
Dr.  Khaled  Selim

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

khaled.selim@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Thilo Stehle
Prof. Dr.  Thilo  Stehle

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Biochemistry
Structural Biology

thilo.stehle@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Samuel Wagner
Prof. Dr.  Samuel  Wagner

Director Graduate School IGIM

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine Tübingen
Cellular and Molecular Microbiology

samuel.wagner@med.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Wolfgang Wohlleben
Prof. Dr. em.  Wolfgang  Wohlleben

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Microbiology/Biotechnology

wolfgang.wohlleben@biotech.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Nadine Ziemert
Prof. Dr.  Nadine  Ziemert

Equal Opportunities Officer

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine Tübingen
Applied Natural Products Genome Mining

nadine.ziemert@uni-tuebingen.de
Website