skip to main content
Research Area B

B: Bacterial Cells and Communities

Central question:

Which complex interaction networks shape mutualism or antagonism along with strain evolution and adaptation in bacterial communities?

Aim

Members of complex bacterial communities interact on multiple levels. These interactions may involve the exchange of genetic information, metabolites and molecular signals and they ultimately contribute to the dynamics and evolution of microbiomes. Scientists in Research Area B join forces to characterize the contribution of phages to the spread of genes related to antibiotic resistance, fitness and virulence within human microbiomes, using computational, biochemical and cell biology approaches.

 

In parallel, they will dissect the major mutualistic and antagonistic metabolic interactions of host-associated or in vitro -reconstituted microbiomes, using a combination of omics approaches. The long term goals of Research Area B are the development of targeted phage-based anti-infective strategies and the identification of microbial metabolic consortia with therapeutic potential.

Principal Investigators

Portrait Largus T.  Angenent
Prof. Dr. Ir.  Largus  T.  Angenent

University of Tübingen
Center for Applied Geoscience
Environmental Biotechnology

l.angenent@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Franz Baumdicker
Dr.  Franz  Baumdicker

University of Tübingen
Department of Computer Science

franz.baumdicker@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Karl Forchhammer
Prof. Dr.  Karl  Forchhammer

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Organismic Interactions

karl.forchhammer@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Friedrich Götz
Prof. Dr. em.  Friedrich  Götz

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Microbial Genetics

friedrich.goetz@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Daniel Huson
Prof. Dr.  Daniel  Huson

University of Tübingen
Center for Bioinformatics
Algorithms in Bioinformatics

daniel.huson@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Andreas Kappler
Prof. Dr.  Andreas  Kappler

University of Tübingen
Center for Applied Geoscience
Geomicrobiology

andreas.kappler@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Eric Kemen
Prof. Dr.  Eric  Kemen

University of Tübingen
ZMBP/IMIT
Microbial Interactions in Plant Ecosystems

eric.kemen@zmbp.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Hannes Link
Prof. Dr.  Hannes  Link

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Bacterial Metabolomics

hannes.link@cmfi.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Boris Macek
Prof. Dr.  Boris  Macek

University of Tübingen
Quantitative Proteomics

administration@ifiz.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Lisa Maier
Prof. Dr.  Lisa  Maier

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

l.maier@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Bastian Molitor
Dr.  Bastian  Molitor

University of Tübingen
Center for Applied Geoscience
Environmental Biotechnology

bastian.molitor@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Kay Nieselt
Prof. Dr.  Kay  Nieselt

University of Tübingen
Institute for Bioinformatics and Medical Informatics (IBMI)
Integrative Transcriptomics

kay.nieselt@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Andreas Peschel
Prof. Dr.  Andreas  Peschel

Spokesperson

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Department of Infection Biology

andreas.peschel@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Silke Peters
Prof. Dr. med.  Silke  Peter

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

silke.peter@med.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Daniel Petras
Dr.  Daniel  Petras

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Functional Metabolomics

Website

Portrait Christoph Ratzke
Dr.  Christoph  Ratzke

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Systems Biology of Microbial Communities

christoph.ratzke@cmfi.uni-tuebingen.de
Website

PD Dr.  Efthimia  Stegmann

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine
Microbiology/Biotechnology

evi.stegmann@uni-tuebingen.de
Website

Portrait Christiane Wolz
Prof. Dr.  Christiane  Wolz

University of Tübingen
Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

christiane.wolz@uni-tuebingen.de
Website