skip to main content

Awards & Distinctions

CMFI researchers have been recognized and honored for their scientific achievements. On this page we provide an overview.

Awards & Distinctions

Juliane Walz 2024 Robert Pfleger-Research Prize 2024, Bamberg
Evi Stegmann & Wolfgang Wohlleben 2023 Winner Science2Start Competition
Hans-Georg Rammensee 2023 CIMT Lifetime Achievement Award
Khaled Selim 2023 FEMS Outstanding Early Career Microbiologist Award
Lars Angenent 2023 Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
Paolo Stincone 2023 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship
Peter Kremsner 2023 EDCTP Dr Pascoal Mocumbi Prize
Peter Loskill 2023 Herbert Stiller Prize - Ärzte gegen Tierversuche e.V
Ruth Ley 2023 Charles Donovan Microbiome Award
Andreas Peschel 2022 Emil von Behring Prize Philipps-University Marburg
Harald Groß 2022 PHOENIX Pharmazie Wissenschaftspreis, category Pharmaceutical Biology
Juliane Walz 2022 Best Abstract Award, German Society of Hematology and Oncology, Vienna
Juliane Walz 2022 International Immunocompromised Host Society (ICHS) Takeda Virology Award
Khaled Selim 2022 Nikon PostDoc Award
Detlef Weigel 2021 Stephen Hales Prize of the American Society of Plant Biologists
Juliane Walz 2021 Best Abstract Award, German Society of Hematology and Oncology, Berlin
Simon Heilbronner 2021 Förderpreis of the DGHM (German Society for Hygiene and Mikrobiology)
Detlef Weigel 2020 Novozymes Prize of the Novo Nordisk Foundation
Hans-Georg Rammensee 2020 Landesforschungspreis Baden-Württemberg
Juliane Walz 2020 Poster Award, University of Tübingen, research colloquium
Karl Forchhammer 2020 BioRegio Innovationspreis
Ruth Ley 2020 Otto-Bayer Award
Detlef Weigel 2019 Barbara McClintock Prize for Plant Genetics and Genome Studies
Monika Schütz 2019 DGHM-Förderpreis
Lisa Maier 2018 Robert Koch Postdoctoral Award for Microbiology
Andreas Kappler 2019 Terry Beveridge Award (Geobiology Society)
Juliane Walz 2019 Research scholarship, National Institute of Health (NIH)
Klaus Brilisauer 2019 1. Preis, Science2Start Ideenwettbewerb (BioRegio STERN)
Ruth Ley 2018 Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine
Juliane Walz 2017 Poster Award, University of Tübingen, research colloquium

ERC Grants

Christoph Stein-Thoeringer 2023 ERC Consolidator Grant for project “Leveraging the impact of gut microbes to advance the efficacy of CAR-T cell immunotherapy”
Lukas Mager 2023 ERC Starting Grant for project "Systematic Triangulation of Pathobiont-Host-Interactions"
Lisa Maier 2022 ERC Starting Grant for project "gutMAP"
Detlef Weigel 2021 ERC Synergy Grant for project "PATOCOM: Understanding and Predicting PATHOgens COMunities"
Christoph Ratzke 2020 ERC Starting Grant for project "BugDrug – Bugs as Drugs: Understanding Microbial Interaction Networks to Prevent and Treat Infections"


Peter Loskill 2024 Member of the Permanent Senate Commission on Animal Research
Andreas Kappler 2023 Geochemistry Fellow of the Geochemical Society and the European Association of Geochemistry
Detlef Weigel 2023 Doctor honoris causa, University of Helsinki
Effie Bastounis 2023 International Fellow of the American Heart Association (FAHA)
Thorsten Nürnberger 2023 Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
Andreas Kappler 2022 Member of the Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen
Andreas Peschel 2022 Member of German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina
Hans-Georg Rammensee 2022 Member of German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina
Lars Angenent 2022 ISMET Fellow
Urban Wiesing 2022 Fellow, Hamburg Institute for Advanced Study
Andreas Kappler 2022 Fellow of the American Society of Microbiology
Andreas Kappler 2020 Geochemical Fellow (Geological Society/European Association of Geochemistry)
Andreas Peschel 2020 Member of the executive board, German Centre for Infection Research
Friedrich Götz 2020 Advisory Board Member: The Physics of Anti-Microbial Resistance, UK – EPSRC
Ruth Ley 2020 Member of the Scientific Council of the Pasteur Institute
Ruth Ley 2020 Member of German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina
Detlef Weigel 2019 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Juliane Walz 2019 Fellowship Haematokolleg of the Competence Network Malignant Lymphoma e.V.
Ruth Ley 2018 European Academy of Microbiology, Elected Member

Early Career Awards

Simone Edenhart 2022 Dissertationspreis, Südwestmetall-Förderpreis
Moritz Koch 2021 1. Prize Matariki Thesis Contest
Moritz Koch 2021 2. Prize, German Thesis Award 2020/21, Körber-Foundation
Moritz Koch 2021 VAAM PhD-Award
Davina Höll 2021 1. Prize German Thesis Award 2020/21, Körber Foundation
Davina Höll 2021 Dissertationspreis of the Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz