skip to main content
CMFI Open Positions Header
Join our team

Postdoc (Microbiology/Biochemistry/(Bio)Polymer Chemistry)

Cluster of Excellence CMFI | now

Supported by a grant from the Volkswagen-Stiftung, we are seeking for a highly motivated junior scientist (m/f/d) (Postdoc TV-L E13, up to 4 years) to explore a new class of Biomaterials with highly promising properties: Cyanophycin-Esters. 

The research is at the intersection between basic and applied research and seeks to implement a process that converts CO2 into an innovative valuable product. 


Cyanophycin, (CP; multi-L-Arginyl-Poly-L-Aspartate) is a nitrogen-rich biopolymer produced by most cyanobacteria and various other bacteria as a dynamic nitrogen-storage compound. Its biotechnological application was for long time limited by its poor solubility and its amorphous structure. Recently, through esterification, we converted CP into a highly promising polycationic polymer (CP-ester) with manifold application options (patent pending). We aim at exploring the synthesis and applications of various CP-esters as a novel biomaterial. Through esterification with different alcohols, CP-ester polymers can be produced with many different functionalities, such as antimicrobial compounds, amphiphilic polymers for compound delivery, organic semiconductors or the functionalization of nanoparticles.

The specific task is to optimize the process for cyanophycin extraction from cyanophycin-overproducing cyanobacteria and convert it into various cyanophycin-esters with different physicochemical properties. Subsequently, to explore and evaluate, preferentially in multidisciplinary teams, the use of these newly created novel cyanophycin-esters in medical, pharmaceutical, and industrial applications.

The applicant should have a training as (applied) biological scientist with a strong background in biomaterials, nanotechnology, biotechnology and/or chemistry.  

Send applications with relevant informations (including CV, certificates)  by e-mail to:

Prof. Karl Forchhammer, Faculty of Sciences, University Tübingen,